Dream VS Reality

My second blog post begins with an unusual topic. Dreams. I type with only one question at mind…, what do we make of them?

Last night, I tossed and turned hour, after hour, after hour. From 2:30 AM to 6:00 AM, I laid in bed simply thinking of dreams to hopefully fall asleep upon. It really is funny how many images/clips go through our minds when we attempt to fall asleep. I, myself, usually start to try to think of happy memories. Those happy memories usually consist of cabin trips, previous childhood years, or just days when I really was at my happiest.

Often, those dreams never seem to settle in my head long enough to actually get a good sleep out of them. So, I start to imagine. I think of things that I wish I said, wish I did, and to be honest, people who I wish were still in my life. The thing was, I got so stuck on an imagination last night that I couldn’t fall asleep. It felt like my head was pounding with regret and desire. I laid and dwelled on the past, and imagined a completely unrealistic future. I was so aware of the fact that this imagination was so ridiculous, that I began to wonder, what if it wasn’t just an imagination?

My dream was so thought provoking that I wondered if their was a small chance it could even become a reality. I even began to think, maybe the dream was a sign. A sign meant to send me to do this, or maybe a warning to not.  What if I were to act upon that dream? What if I didn’t leave my words unsaid? Would it change anything?

The truth is, dreams and reality differentiate in so many ways. When we dream, we don’t base off any of it from reality. Reality is sticky. The relationships we have are complicated. Our decisions are based off so many underlying facts, issues, etc. that will hold us back from making decisions. In reality, we think. We know we shouldn’t do something because we know it’s just better off that way. When we dream, we wonder, what if it isn’t?

Another truth that is important to see is, without dreams, sometimes our reality would really suck. Half of the most brilliant people in the world found their reality simply by acting upon a dream. Ambition is built off of dreams, and so is success.  It just happens to be that sometimes we have to realize what is realistic, and what is not.

So, after all the blubbering, I came to this conclusion:

Before acting upon a dream, find out the underlying facts. Realize the difference between a dream and reality. Learn what is realistic, and what is not.

Lastly, here’s an interesting quote that provided some insight for myself, hopefully to you too;

“There are some people who live in a dream world, and there are some who face reality; and then there are those who turn one into another” – Douglas H. Evert

I wish it was that easy.

Leave a Reply

